40 Second Egg Breakfast Sandwich

40 Second Egg Breakfast Sandwich

One of my favorite, leisurely ways to start the day in the morning is by reading through my Twitter feed of the people I follow.  As I was lying there feeling slightly pickled from the Cinco de Mayo celebration last night, I came across @Food52’s “Genius Recipes” tweet about Daniel Patterson’s Poached Scrambled Eggs.  I had to try it.  I pried myself from the bed, popped an Advil with a hot cup of coffee and set out to create something for breakfast.  We’re big fans of the breakfast sandwich, so that’s what I aimed for.  We had some rye bread, there was a left-over burger we cooked late last week and there was (and always is) some bleu cheese.  Voila, breakfast sandwich.  I have to say, the eggs are amazingly light and fluffy.  I will definitely make them again.  My only issue was getting them properly drained.  Once I had, I added a pinch of herbs de provence, a little kosher salt, and some ground black pepper and that was it.  Simple and easy.

Here’s my paraphrased version of the technique, but you should really visit Food52 for the real deal, complete with pictures.

Method

  • bring a medium sauce pan of salted water to a boil
  • whisk 4 eggs in a bowl
  • stir water to form a whirlpool effect
  • pour eggs into water and cover for 40 seconds
  • remove from heat and strain

It’s really that easy.

One thought on “40 Second Egg Breakfast Sandwich

  1. Darlene Carrigan says:

    Love food52 genius recipes. Made these for breakfast this morning. Yum. I am used to the slow cook method of scrambled eggs that take 30 minutes. This just opened up scrambled eggs on a weekday. I think I can finally get rid of our nonstick pan. (added bonus)

Leave a Reply

