Nutella Banana Bread

Nutella Banana Bread

Nutella Banana Bread

Having mistakenly foreseen myself having a banana before work everyday this week, I found an entire bunch of almost-too-ripe bananas mocking me over my first cup of weekend coffee.  They were clearly calling out to be baked into bread form and join the coffee as a weekend breakfast.   Be warned, ripened bananas have the power to communicate in pre-caffienated weekend hours.

I’m trying to control the bulge (as usual) so I fired up the iPad and set out to find a Weight Watchers recipe for banana bread.  What I discovered over at The Slender Kitchen was not just banana bread, oh no; what I found there was NUTELLA banana bread and claiming to be diet food to boot.  Worried that this might be some kind of mirage, I quickly finished my coffee and poured myself another cup.  Nope, it was true.  One slice, just 4 points.  Make it for breakfast so you have the rest of the day to work off the points, because I guarantee you’re going to want more than one piece.

Weight Watchers Nutella Banana Bread
Points: 4 weight watchers points plus
Servings: 13 slices
Serving Size: 1 slice
Nutritional Info: 138.1 calories, 3.8g of fat, 24.8g of carbohydrates, 2.5g of fiber, 1.7g of protein

Ingredients

  • 4 ripe medium bananas, mashed
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup Nutella (I used Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter, which I highly recommend if you can find it)

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and sugar. Stir in the egg whites. Add the banana, vanilla, and apple sauce and mix together. Set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl mix together the flour, baking soda, and salt.
  4. Gently mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until just combined.
  5. Warm the Nutella up in the microwave for 30-60 seconds until it is softer and melted.
  6. Pour the banana bread batter into a bread pan. Spoon the nutella on top and swirl into the bread using a knife until all of the Nutella has been worked in.
  7. Bake for 40-45 minutes until cooked through.
Leave a Reply

